Our board

South East Water’s board currently comprises eight non-executive directors (including the chair), and a managing director.

If you have any questions about our governance arrangements, please get in touch through our enquiries form

Lucia Cade
BEng (Civil) (Hons), BEc, MEngSc, MBA, FAICD, FIEAust

Ms Cade was appointed Chair of South East Water in October 2015 and is a director of iota Services Pty Ltd, a wholly owned-subsidiary of South East Water. She has executive experience in the water utility, engineering consulting and construction industries. Ms Cade is currently Chair of Paintback and a non-executive director of Engineers Australia, Carbon Revolution, Regional Investment Corporation and the Cooperative Research Centre for Future Fuels. She is a Global Advisor to the UN Global Cities Compact and a member of the Engineering Dean’s Advisory Council at Monash University.

Lara Olsen
BEng (Chem) (Hons), BArts, MBA, GAICD
Managing Director

Lara was appointed as our Managing Director on 17 February 2020, leading the delivery of water, sewerage and recycled water services to 1.87 million people who rely on us every day and every night. Lara is also a director of Iota, a wholly-owned subsidiary of our organisation and a director of Water Services Association of Australia (WSAA) and a director on the Frankston Revitalisation Board. Lara has extensive experience in the utility sector, focused on customer experience and innovation. Before joining us, Lara was the Global Head of Business Development and Industrial Products at Tesla Energy based in the USA and also led the Business Development and Industrial Products team for Tesla Australia. Previous roles include Head of Strategy for CitiPower PowerCor and the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA), Project Leader with the Boston Consulting Group and co-founding Billcap, an energy platform that helps customers and retailers manage their usage and bills.

Kim McGrath
Blaws, BA, MAICD
Deputy Chair

Ms McGrath was appointed as a Director of South East Water in October 2015. Ms McGrath is Principal Consultant at BKE Consulting, a public policy advisory and research service. She has over 20 years’ experience in public policy formulation and implementation at international, federal and state levels including eight years as water policy adviser to the Premier of Victoria. She has provided strategic advice, research, policy development, writing and editorial services to governments, private companies, universities and not-for-profit organisations. Ms McGrath is a director of VicForests. She is currently a doctoral candidate at Monash University. Ms McGrath has previously served on the board of South Gippsland Water.

The Honourable Louise Asher
BA (Hons), MA, DipEd, BEc

Ms Asher was appointed as a Director of South East Water in October 2019. She is a retired Member of Parliament with considerable experience in government operations. Her expertise includes legislation and regulation, formulating budgets and policy development gained from her ministerial and shadow ministerial responsibilities in diverse portfolios such as trade, innovation, tourism, industry, water and manufacturing. It supports her deep understanding of industry and the importance of collaboration and compromise to achieve successful political and commercial outcomes. Ms Asher is a former director of Playbox Theatre and a former council member of Victorian College of the Arts.

Gabrielle Bell
LLB (Hons), BEng (Chem) (Hons), GAICD

Ms Bell was appointed as a Director of South East Water in October 2015 and is currently Chair of iota Services Pty Ltd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of South East Water. Ms Bell is a corporate lawyer with broad experience working in Australia and South East Asia. During her legal career, her practice has focused on corporate advisory (including corporate governance), mergers and acquisitions and capital markets. She is also a Director of V/Line Corporation, Aware Super Pty Ltd and the Victorian Water Industry Association. Ms Bell was a Director of Southern Rural Water from October 2012 to September 2015.

W Peter Day

Mr Day was appointed as a Director of South East Water in October 2015. Mr Day previously held executive positions as Chief Financial Officer of Amcor, Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director at Bonlac Foods and Managing Director Business Services with the Rio Tinto group. He is currently a non-executive Director of a number of ASX listed companies including Alumina, Ansell, and Australian Unity Office Fund. Mr Day is also a Director of Authorities Online and Maurice Blackburn. Mr Day was a past Director of Gippsland Water from October 2008 to September 2015.

Jason Kambovski
LLB (Commercial Law), BCom (Accounting, Finance), GAICD

Mr Kambovski was appointed as a Director of South East Water in October 2019 and is a director of Iota Services Pty Ltd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of South East Water. He brings more than 25 years of experience in the financial services, legal and accounting sectors and is currently Global Head of Public Sector at Westpac Institutional Bank. He is a former Member of the Board of Directors at Lower Murray Water where he was the Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee.

Timothy Lyons
BA, DipFinSvcs, GAICD

Mr Lyons was appointed as a Director of South East Water in October 2015 and is Chair of South East Water’s People, Remuneration, Safety and Wellbeing Committee. Mr Lyons is a qualified and experienced company director with an extensive track record in governance, accountability and risk management. His most recent role was Assistant Secretary at Australian Council of Trade Unions. Mr Lyons is Director at Host Plus and member of  Shareholder Advisory Board and ME Bank. He has also served on several other boards including LUCRF Super, HESTA Super Fund, The Union Education Foundation Ltd and Industry Super Australia Pty Ltd.

Arron Wood

Mr Wood was appointed as Director of South East Water in October 2017 and a director of Iota Services Pty Ltd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of South East Water. He is also Chair of South East Water’s Customer Service Solutions Committee. He is Director of Firestarter Pty Ltd, an environmental communication and education consultancy business he founded in 2001 and Director of Business Assist. He is a former board member of the Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority and Sustainability Victoria and has previously held water and environment management roles in state and local government entities. Mr Wood holds a Bachelor of Forest Science and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


To learn more about the roles, responsibilities and operation of our board and its related committees, look at our charters: